Calls for Papers

4th Annual IAPT Conference – First Call for Papers

The International Association for the Philosophy of Time (IAPT) is formed by the Philosophy of Time Society, the Centre for Time (Milan), and the Centre for Philosophy of Time (Sydney).

The IAPT invites submissions of high quality papers for the 4th annual IAPT conference, to be held from 12th–14th June 2017, at the Palazzo Feltrinelli, Gargnano, Lake Garda, Italy.

The IAPT conference will involve five themed sessions with invited keynote speakers and several open sessions. The themed sessions (with keynotes) are as follows:

The Logic and Language of Time — Patrick Blackburn (Roskilde)
Time, Action, and Ethics — Jennifer Hornsby (Birkbeck)
Temporal Experience — Jenann Ismael (Arizona)
Time and the Scientific Image — Tim Maudlin (NYU)
Non-Standard A Theories — Sven Rosenkranz (Barcelona)

Temporal Illusion Round Table — A. Bardon (Wake Forest), V. Arstila (Turku), S. Power (Cork), A. Vatakis (Athens)

Papers (suitable for a 25-30 minute presentation, and no longer than 5,000 words) should be submitted via EasyChair by 31st December 2016:

Submissions on any topic in the philosophy of time are welcomed. All papers must be prepared for blind review and include a short abstract. Early career scholars, e.g. graduate students, postdocs, pre-tenure faculty (etc.), are eligible for a prize bursary — participants awarded a prize will be entitled to reimbursement for conference expenses up to the value of $500.

NB. The conference fee is €230, which includes three nights lodging in the Palazzo (from Sunday 11th to Wednesday 14th June) and all meals. Since the Palazzo has limited space, for those who cannot be lodged in the University facilities the fee is €120, which includes all meals (served in the Palazzo).

Organising Committee: A. Bardon (Wake Forest), V. Buonomo (Milan), C. Calosi (Neuchâtel), F. Correia (Neuchâtel), S. Iaquinto (Milan), D. Ingram (Milan), U. Meyer (Colgate), K. Miller (Sydney), B. Neeser (Neuchâtel), G. Torrengo (Milan), and C. Wüthrich (Geneva).

Sponsors: State University of Milan (15-5-3007000-601), Fondazione Cariplo-Regione Lombardia (15-6-3007000-2021), Philosophy of Time Society, Department of Philosophy (State University of Milan)




Comments are closed.